Clover’s 10 schools name teachers of the year

From staff reportsApril 11, 2013 

— Each of Clover’s 10 schools have announced their 2012-13 Teacher of the Year honorees. The teachers will be recognized during a May 8 banquet at The Palisades Country Club.

The teachers are listed below in alphabetical order by school.

• Bethany Elementary, Sandra Laird, first-grade teacher, eight years in Clover.

• Bethel Elementary, Monica Roveri, media specialist, four years in Clover.

• Blue Eagle Academy, Mandy Combs, fifth-grade teacher, 14 years in Clover.

• Clover High School, Christy Wilson, family and consumer science teacher, 15 years in Clover.

• Clover Middle, Connie Carnes, SOAR teacher, six years in Clover.

• Crowders Creek Elementary, Logan Cato, third-grade teacher, five years in Clover.

• Griggs Road Elementary, Samantha McCarter, second-grade teacher, five years in Clover.

• Kinard Elementary School, Cathy Lowman, art teacher, 33 years in Clover.

• Larne Elementary School, Amy Brewer, special education teacher, 17 years in Clover.

Oakridge Middle School, Kathy Corbiere, media specialist, two years in Clover.

Each school teacher of the year now enters into an evaluation process in which a team of judges, including representatives from the community, will select the 2013 District Teacher of the Year.

The district teacher will be announced during convocation in August. The district honoree will have the opportunity to participate in professional development programs as part of the S.C. Teacher Forum led by the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention and Advancement.

Each district teacher of the year will compete to be selected as the 2014 South Carolina Teacher of the Year, a prestigious honor which includes representing more than 50,000 educators in the Palmetto State.

The York and Clover Enquirer-Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service